There are many repositories of free videos available online.
Each repository will have its own methodology for embedding video within Canvas. Contact the library staff if you need assistance.
Be sure to check the usage rights for videos.
- ABC Documentaries pulls together documentaries that aired on ABC in Australia.
- Australian Screen contains information about and excerpts from a wide selection of Australian feature films, documentaries, television programs, newsreels, short films, animations, and home-movies produced over the last 100 years.
- BigThink offers interviews and insight from the world’s most influential experts in business, entertainment, education, religion, and media.
- Bloggingheads.tv offers split-screen video dialogues about politics and ideas.
- Crash Course Videos are made by the author John Green, his brother Hank, and other subject matter experts. All videos in the series are free to use and licensed with a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license but you can support them if you like through Patreon.
- Folkstreams.net has videos related to American roots culture.
- Fora.tv is a channel on YouTube that features content from conferences, summits, public forums, university debates and think tanks across the globe.
- EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives from the early 1900s to the present.
- The Global Oneness Project produces documentary films and interviews that explore ecological, economical, and social systems.
- The Internet Archive Moving Image Archive contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download and can be streamed online.
- LinkTV gathers global and national news, documentaries, and cultural programs.
- MITWorld hosts talks by innovative thinkers.
- NFB.ca offers films produced by the National Film Board of Canada.
- PBS Video offers a number of their original programs.
- PeoplesArchive collects videos of people telling their stories.
- Ri Channel a channel on YouTube created by the Royal Institution of Great Britain, features science videos.
- The Science Network has videos from a number of branches of science.
- TED Talks contain videos of “riveting talks by remarkable people, free to the world.”
- UbuWeb hosts a large archive of online avant-garde media, including a film/video collection that features work by such artists as Andy Warhol, Philip Glass, and Allen Ginsberg.
- UCTV is a non-commercial channel featuring programming from the University of California
- Videolectures.net provides free access to video lectures presented by scholars from many fields of science.
(The list above is from the Designing and Using for Impact course from the Institute of Faculty Development at Vanguard University. The original list was designed by Indiana University and adapted for use by Vanguard.)
There are other streaming services to consider that provide free ad-supported content through websites or apps.
