Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Creating Database Accounts: ProQuest

Creating a database (ebrary, EBSCO, ProQuest, JSTOR, etc...) account provides access to many great research tools!

How do I create an account?

When you are in one of the ProQuest databases (look for the databases with "(ProQuest)" next to the database name in the database list on the library homepage), click on the person icon and select Sign in to My Research in the upper right hand corner.

Click on Create a My Research account.

 

Fill out the form:

You now have a ProQuest account! 

What can I do with an account?

Found some great articles but don't have enough time to read and analyze the content? Save the articles in a folder! You can email the folder to yourself OR if you have a ProQuest account you can save those articles and read them later. 

Select the articles you want by placing a checkmark in the box

In the top right hand corner of the screen, click on the folder icon and select Selected Items.

To email the articles, select Email.

Then input your email address in the form and submit. Remember to check your inbox to make sure you received the article!

 

To save the articles to your accounts, click on More... and then Save to My Research.

A pop-up window with folder options will appear. Select the folder you would like to use and click Save. 

In doing research, it is highly recommended you document your searches. You might have to re-do the search or even perform a new search in the same database with a different set of keywords. Instead of documenting the search on paper, you can save searches in your ProQuest account. 

Under the search box, click on Save search/alert.

If you want to save the current search, select Save search, log in to your account, and fill out the form. If you did multiple searches, click View recent searches, select the search you want to save, and click Actions. Then in the drop down menu select Save search.

Log in to your account and fill out the form.

New content is periodically added to the databases. You can create alerts to notify you when a new article is added to a saved search or when an issue of a certain journal is added to the database. 

Under the search box, click on Save search/alert.

If you want to create an alert for the current search, select Create alert in the drop down menu and fill out the form. If you did multiple searches, click on View recent searches and select the search you want. Click on Actions and select Create alert in the drop down menu.

Log in to your account and fill out the form - name, schedule updates (send weekly, monthly, etc...) and when you want the updates to end.

 

Video tutorial

HOW TO CREATE & USE A MYRESEARCH ACCOUNT IN PROQUEST DATABASES

ProQuest Tips

  • When emailing the Selected items articles list, the email may not be delivered if the file size is too big. It is highly recommended that articles in chunks of five or less be emailed to ensure delivery. Always check to see you received the email before deleting the list. 
  • Depending on the file size, the articles from the Selected items list may be sent  as a PDF attachment or as a link.  

Handy Links

________________________________________

  • Call 714-966-6382
  • Stop by  a Librarian's Office
  • Submit an Ask-A-Librarian Question Form for an email reply HERE
  • Instant message             with LibChat (below)