LibGuides: Communication: Fantasy-Theme Analysis

Examples of Articles

If asked to sign-in, please use your same login username and password as Canvas.

Black, Edwin. “A Note on Theory and Practice in Rhetorical Criticism.” Western Journal of Speech Communication 44, no. 4 (1980): 331-336.
Bormann, Ernest G. “Fantasy and Rhetorical Vision: The Rhetorical Criticism of Social Reality.” Quarterly Journal of Speech 58, no. 4 (1972): 396-407.
Bormann, Ernest G. “Fetching Good Out of Evil: A Rhetorical Use of Calamity.” Quarterly Journal of Speech 63, no. 2 (1977): 130-139.
Bormann, Ernest G. “I. Fantasy and Rhetorical Vision: Ten Years Later.” Quarterly Journal of Speech 68, no. 3 (1982): 288-305.
Bormann, Ernest G. “Symbolic Convergence Theory: A Communication Formulation.” Journal of Communication 35, no. 4 (1985b): 128-138.
Bormann, Ernest G. “The Eagleton Affair: A Fantasy Theme Analysis.” Quarterly Journal of Speech 59, no. 2 (1973): 143-159.
Bormann, Ernest G., John F. Cragan, and Donald C. Shields. “In Defense of Symbolic Convergence Theory: A Look at the Theory and Its Criticisms After Two Decades.” Communication Theory 4, no. 4 (1994): 259-294.
Bormann, Ernest G.; Cragan, John F.; Shields, Donald C. “Defending Symbolic Convergence Theory from an Imaginary Gunn.” Quarterly Journal of Speech 89, no. 4 (2003): 366-372.
Brummett, Barry. “Rhetorical Theory as Heuristic and Moral: A Pedagogical Justification.” Communication Education 33, no. 2 (1984): 97-105.
Gronbeck, Bruce. “Dramaturgical Theory and Criticism: The State of the Art (or Science?).” Western Journal of Speech Communication 44, no. 4 (1980): 315-330.
Gunn, Joshua. “Refiguring Fantasy: Imagination and Its Decline in U.S. Rhetorical Studies.” Quarterly Journal of Speech 89, no. 1 (2003a): 41-59.
Gunn, Joshua. “Response.” Quarterly Journal of Speech 89, no. 4 (2003b): 373.
Mohrmann, G. P. “An Essay on Fantasy Theme Criticism.” Quarterly Journal of Speech 68, no. 2 (1982a): 109-132.
Mohrmann, G. P. “Elegy in a Critical Grave-Yard.” Western Journal of Speech Communication 44, no. 4 (1980): 265-273.
Mohrmann, G. P. “II. Fantasy Theme Criticism: A Peroration.” Quarterly Journal of Speech 68, no. 3 (1982b): 305-313.

Examples of Library Books or Print Resources

The Force of Fantasy by Ernest G. Bormann
Call Number: 2 Hr. Res BV 3773 B67 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-03
Language As Symbolic Action by Kenneth Burke
Call Number: 2 Hr. Res PN 511 B793
Publication Date: 1968-07-01
Symbolic Theories in Applied Communication Research by John F. Cragan; Donald C. Shields; Gary L. Kreps (Editor)
Call Number: 2 Hr. Res P 91.3 C68
ISBN: 1881303780
Publication Date: 1995-02-01
This volume presents a metatheory for explaining communication theories. Three communication paradigms are identified (symbolic, relational and rational) and three theories are examined - Bormann's Symbolic Convergence Theory, Burke's Dramatism Theory and Fisher's Narrative Theory.
Rhetorical Criticism by Sonja K. Foss
Call Number: 2 Hr. Res PN 4096 R49 2004
ISBN: 1577665864
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

Communication-related Resources

Some useful databases for Communication related assignments or research:

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database providing access to full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Access to scholarly, full-text communication and mass media journals; coverage dates back to 1915.
CQ Researcher
Reports on hot topics and issues, includes topic overview, pro/con essays, and a list of additional resources.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text articles on television and film, includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and images from the Image Archive.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals, ebooks, reviews, and pamphlets. Use Journal Filter to narrow down by discipline/subject.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Full text access to more than 40 national and international newspapers.
Opposing Viewpoints
Information on hot topics and issues; access to pro/con essays, primary resources, video and image files, websites, academic journals, and more.
Oxford English Dictionary
Standard dictionary accessible online.
Presidential Speech Archive
ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary, aggregated database; search multiple ProQuest databases simultaneously for ebooks and scholarly articles.
Statista
The leading global statistics online portal.
Telecommunications (ProQuest)
Over 115 full-text journals covering the telecommunication industry and its technology
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Full-text to over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout world.

Useful websites for research and persuasive essays or speeches:

Public Agenda Website
A non-partisan website focusing on giving information for the well being of communities.

Library Tools

Submit a Question
Call 714-966-6382
Stop by a Librarian's Office

Install LibKey Nomad!

Go to libkeynomad.com
Select your browser
Download and install
Select Vanguard University
Go! Check out Wikipedia, PubMed, Sage, and other websites and look for LibKey links.
Look for the "Access Options" button on the websites you visit.

Communication: Fantasy-Theme Analysis

Examples of Articles

Examples of Library Books or Print Resources

Communication-related Resources

Library Tools

Install LibKey Nomad!

Helpful Links