Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Examples of Articles
If you get an error message, you can access the second article via library's journal portal. Search for the title and select the year and issue you need.
"An Analysis of Structure of an Epic: A Statistical Approach"
Article by Bagavandas, M., and S. Nazreen Begum.Journal of Quantitative Linguistics (2008), Volume 15, Issue 3, pages 221-242.
Request as an InterLibrary Loan with a Librarian
"Clusters, key clusters and local textual functions in Dickens"
Article by Mahlberg, Michaela. Corpora (2007), Volume 2, Issue 1, pages 1-31
Examples of Library Books or Print Resources
Rhetorical Criticism by
Call Number: 2 Hr. Res PN 4096 R49 2004
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
"Sonja Foss, who has an enviable talent for synthesizing complex rhetorical concepts and processes into clear explanations, presents nine methods of rhetorical criticism. She carefully explains and illustrates the theory behind each method with abundant examples of applications. Interesting and lively essays, some written by students, encourage readers to develop their critical skills. Useful bibliographies list additional samples for each type of criticism." "Rhetorical criticism is not a process confined to a few assignments in a rhetorical or media criticism course. It is an everyday activity we can use to understand our responses to symbols of all kinds and to create our own symbols to generate the responses we desire."--BOOK JACKET.
Some useful databases for Communication related assignments or research:
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database providing access to full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Access to scholarly, full-text communication and mass media journals; coverage dates back to 1915.
Reports on hot topics and issues, includes topic overview, pro/con essays, and a list of additional resources.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO)
Access to full-text articles on television and film, includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and images from the Image Archive.
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals, ebooks, reviews, and pamphlets. Use Journal Filter to narrow down by discipline/subject.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Full text access to more than 40 national and international newspapers.
Information on hot topics and issues; access to pro/con essays, primary resources, video and image files, websites, academic journals, and more.
Oxford English Dictionary
Standard dictionary accessible online.
A multidisciplinary, aggregated database; search multiple ProQuest databases simultaneously for ebooks and scholarly articles.
The leading global statistics online portal.
Over 115 full-text journals covering the telecommunication industry and its technology
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Full-text to over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout world.
Useful websites for research and persuasive essays or speeches:
Public Agenda Website
A non-partisan website focusing on giving information for the well being of communities.
- Call 714-966-6382
- Stop by a Librarian's Office
- Submit an Ask-A-Librarian Question Form for an email reply HERE
- Instant message with LibChat (below)