Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Examples of Articles
If asked to sign-in, please use your same login username and password as Canvas.
Examples of Library Books or Print Resources
Printed books and journals on Ideological Criticism
Ideology by The definition of ideology continues to occupy scholars across a wide range of disciplines. In this book, Teun A van Dijk sketches a challenging new multidisciplinary framework for theorizing ideology. He defines ideology as the basis of the social representations of a group, its functions in terms of social relations between groups, and its reproduction as enacted by discourse. Contemporary racist discourse is examined to illustrate these ideological relations between cognition, society and discourse.
Call Number: 2 Hr Res B 823.3 D55 1998
Publication Date: 1998-06-18
Communicating Racism by How does everyday talk contribute to the spread and acceptance of ethnic prejudice? Communicating Racism is a revealing interdisciplinary study of ethnic prejudices and the ways in which they are diffused through interpersonal communication and intergroup interaction. In this clearly written and comprehensive study, van Dijk establishes a crucial link between the cognitive, social and communicative dimensions of racism. He examines: the social psychology of ethnic attitudes; the cognitive psychology of ethnic prejudice; and the social context of prejudice; the interpersonal communication of racism. By analysing informal discourse and the reproduction of racism within the white majority, the author offers us a new understanding of many deep-rooted and poorly understood patterns of prejudice.
Call Number: HM 291 D496
Publication Date: 1987-07-01
Aesthetic Theory by
Call Number: 2-hr Reserve B 3199 A33 A813 1997
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Marxism and Literary Criticism by Marxist literary criticism is becoming increasingly important in Europe as a whole, and interest in the subject is rapidly growing in this country. In this book, Dr. Eagleton analyses the major issues that the subject presents, discussing the writing of Marx and Engels themselves and the work of such critics as Plekhanov, Trotsky, Lenin, Lukacs, Goldmann, Caudwell, Benjamin and Brecht. They are seen from four viewpoints central to Marxist thought: the relation of literature to history, the problem of 'form' and 'content' in literature, the question of literature and political commitment, and the importance of production and technology in art. Dr. Eagleton's exploration of these critical stances throws useful light on the connection between the Marxist approach and structuralism. The author stresses, however, that Marxist criticism cannot be seen simply in academic terms. In his preface he rejects the illusion of 'neutrality' in such a field, and writes: 'Marxist criticism is part of a larger body of theoretical analysis which aims to understand ideologies--the ideas, values and feelings by which men experience their societies at various times. And certain of those ideas, values and feelings are available to us only in literature. To understand ideologies is to understand both the past and the present more deeply, and such understanding contributes to our liberation.' Dr. Eagleton shows the part that Marxist criticism has to play in defining the crucial link between literature and historical conditions, and in so doing has produced a book that is both constructive and committed.
Call Number: 2-hr Reserve PN 98 C6 E23 1976
Publication Date: 1976-08-16
Some useful databases for Communication related assignments or research:
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database providing access to full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Access to scholarly, full-text communication and mass media journals; coverage dates back to 1915.
Reports on hot topics and issues, includes topic overview, pro/con essays, and a list of additional resources.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO)
Access to full-text articles on television and film, includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and images from the Image Archive.
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals, ebooks, reviews, and pamphlets. Use Journal Filter to narrow down by discipline/subject.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Full text access to more than 40 national and international newspapers.
Information on hot topics and issues; access to pro/con essays, primary resources, video and image files, websites, academic journals, and more.
Oxford English Dictionary
Standard dictionary accessible online.
A multidisciplinary, aggregated database; search multiple ProQuest databases simultaneously for ebooks and scholarly articles.
The leading global statistics online portal.
Over 115 full-text journals covering the telecommunication industry and its technology
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Full-text to over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout world.
Useful websites for research and persuasive essays or speeches:
Public Agenda Website
A non-partisan website focusing on giving information for the well being of communities.
- Call 714-966-6382
- Stop by a Librarian's Office
- Submit an Ask-A-Librarian Question Form for an email reply HERE
- Instant message with LibChat (below)