LibGuides: Communication: Narrative Paradigm Criticism

Walter Fisher Sources

*Articles and books by Walter Fisher are listed in the references (pg. 315) of Symbolic Theories in Applied Communication Research by Cragen and Shields.

*If asked to sign-in, please use your same login username and password as Canvas.

Examples of Articles

If asked to sign-in, please use your same login username and password as Canvas.

Bystrov, Yakiv. "Fractal metaphor LIFE IS A STORY in biographical narrative." Topics In Linguistics no. 14 (December 2014): 1-8.

Examples of Library Books or Print Resources

Human Communication as Narration by Walter R. Fisher; Carrol C. Arnold (Editor)
Call Number: 2 Hr. Res P 91 F52
ISBN: 0872495000
Publication Date: 1987-05-01

Communication-related Databases

Some useful databases for Communication related assignments or research:

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database providing access to full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Access to scholarly, full-text communication and mass media journals; coverage dates back to 1915.
CQ Researcher
Reports on hot topics and issues, includes topic overview, pro/con essays, and a list of additional resources.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text articles on television and film, includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and images from the Image Archive.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals, ebooks, reviews, and pamphlets. Use Journal Filter to narrow down by discipline/subject.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Full text access to more than 40 national and international newspapers.
Opposing Viewpoints
Information on hot topics and issues; access to pro/con essays, primary resources, video and image files, websites, academic journals, and more.
Oxford English Dictionary
Standard dictionary accessible online.
Presidential Speech Archive
ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary, aggregated database; search multiple ProQuest databases simultaneously for ebooks and scholarly articles.
Statista
The leading global statistics online portal.
Telecommunications (ProQuest)
Over 115 full-text journals covering the telecommunication industry and its technology
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest)
Full-text to over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout world.

Useful websites for research and persuasive essays or speeches:

Public Agenda Website
A non-partisan website focusing on giving information for the well being of communities.

Library Tools

Submit a Question
Call 714-966-6382
Stop by a Librarian's Office

Install LibKey Nomad!

Go to libkeynomad.com
Select your browser
Download and install
Select Vanguard University
Go! Check out Wikipedia, PubMed, Sage, and other websites and look for LibKey links.
Look for the "Access Options" button on the websites you visit.

Communication: Narrative Paradigm Criticism