LibGuides: Sociology: Social Issues & Stats

Finding Statistics

Statista
The leading global statistics online portal.

CDC - National Center for Health Statistics
"Provides US public health statistics including diseases, pregnancies, births, aging, and mortality."
Data and Statistics - USA.gov
Find data and statistics on the U.S. by topic matter.
Stats about major U.S. cities
Click on map to see a particular city's median statistics.
The 2012 Statistical Abstract - U.S. Census Bureau
Download sections of the report by topic.
U.S. Statistics - infoplease.com
"Find data here on the U.S. economy, population, births, deaths, poverty, crime, and more."
UN Stats: The World’s Women, 2005
Click on "English" to the right of "Complete Report" or beneath "Report by Section" to see online pdf copy.
Census.gov

Websites

The Institute for Women's Policy Research
Find information on topics such as paid leave, higer education, and equal pay among women in the workforce.
Congress.gov - Search Legislations
Search keywords to find relevant bills in ALL or CURRENT legislation.
SocioSite
Maintained by the University of Amsterdam.
Social, Political and Economic Change
Find resources to demographics and statistics for various important part of society.
U.S. Census Bureau: Poverty Statistics
Find great stats on just poverty alone.

Highlighted Sociology-related databases

(Find the full list of Sociology-related databases here)

The World Factbook (CIA)
A great resource to find facts and demographics on countries and includes brief explanations and history summaries.
Consumer Health Database (ProQuest)
Journals and magazines focusing on health subjects.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text articles on television and film, includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and images from the Image Archive.

JSTOR - Sociology Journals

Military & Governement Collection (EBSCO)
Full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.

National Atlas of the U.S.
The National Atlas Program has ended. Some of their data and content have moved to other sites. This link will direct you to a list of those sites.

Opposing Viewpoints
Information on hot topics and issues; access to pro/con essays, primary resources, video and image files, websites, academic journals, and more.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
Access to over 500 full-text psychology journals.
Social Sciences (ProQuest)
Search 12 social science databases simultaneously.
Search 12 social science databases simultaneously – CBCA, ebrary, OxResearch, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Social Sciences, ProQuest Criminal Justice, ProQuest Education Journals, ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Psychology Journals, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences, ProQuest Social Science Journals, and ProQuest Sociology.
Statista
The leading global statistics online portal.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Database focusing on women’s activism in the U.S. between 1600-2000; includes full-text documents (many written by primary authors) and website, book, and film reviews.

Sociological Research

Sociological research into Social Issues pertains to the type of work that people do to explore the conflicted social interactions and relationships between people and societies.

This could include:

- Poverty

- Homelessness

- Marriage and family

- Urban development

- Political influences

- Ethnicity

- Incarceration ratios

- Class inequality

- Gender inequality

- Health inequality

and so much more!

Resources on other tabs

Library Tools

Submit a Question
Call 714-966-6382
Stop by a Librarian's Office

Install LibKey Nomad!

Go to libkeynomad.com
Select your browser
Download and install
Select Vanguard University
Go! Check out Wikipedia, PubMed, Sage, and other websites and look for LibKey links.
Look for the "Access Options" button on the websites you visit.

Sociology: Social Issues & Stats