LibGuides: Sociology: Homelessness

Homeless Organizations & Websites

Finding Statistics

CDC - National Center for Health Statistics
"Provides US public health statistics including diseases, pregnancies, births, aging, and mortality."
Data and Statistics - USA.gov
Find data and statistics on the U.S. by topic matter.
Stats about major U.S. cities
Click on map to see a particular city's median statistics.
The 2012 Statistical Abstract - U.S. Census Bureau
Download sections of the report by topic.

Databases

Search for articles on the Homeless:

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database providing access to full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, and more.
Business Databases (ProQuest)

Search 13 business databases simultaneously – ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, CBCA Complete Business, ebrary ebooks, Hoover’s Company Profiles, OxResearch, ProQuest Asian Business & Reference, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Business, ProQuest Entrepreneurship, ProQuest European Business, ProQuest Research Library: Business, and Snapshots.
EBook Central
Access over 100,000 ebooks covering a wide range of academic disciplines.
Consumer Health Database (ProQuest)
Journals and magazines focusing on health subjects.
Health & Medicine (ProQuest)
Search nine ProQuest health databases simultaneously - CBA complete: Health & Medicine, Ebook Central, Pharmaceutical News Index, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Health Medicine, ProQuest Consumer Health, ProQuest Health and Medical Complete, ProQuest Health Management, ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source, and ProQuest Research Library: Health & Medicine.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals, ebooks, reviews, and pamphlets. Use Journal Filter to narrow down by discipline/subject.
Military & Governement Collection (EBSCO)
Full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
Opposing Viewpoints
Information on hot topics and issues; access to pro/con essays, primary resources, video and image files, websites, academic journals, and more.
ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary, aggregated database; search multiple ProQuest databases simultaneously for ebooks and scholarly articles.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)

Access to over 500 full-text psychology journals.
Psychology Database (ProQuest)

Over 540 full-text psychology journals, and abstracts and indexing to over 640 titles.
Social Sciences (ProQuest)

Search 12 social science databases simultaneously.

Search 12 social science databases simultaneously – CBCA, ebrary, OxResearch, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Social Sciences, ProQuest Criminal Justice, ProQuest Education Journals, ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Psychology Journals, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences, ProQuest Social Science Journals, and ProQuest Sociology.

Highlighted Databases

The issue of homelessness is impacted by various disciplines. Think about the different facets of homelessness that you want to research and search within the appropriate databases. Need advice? Ask a librarian via the contact information on the left column.

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database providing access to full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, and more.
Business Databases (ProQuest)

Search 13 business databases simultaneously.

Search 13 business databases simultaneously – ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, CBCA Complete Business, ebrary ebooks, Hoover’s Company Profiles, OxResearch, ProQuest Asian Business & Reference, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Business, ProQuest Entrepreneurship, ProQuest European Business, ProQuest Research Library: Business, and Snapshots.
CINAHL (EBSCO)
Nursing and health literature, including scholarly journals, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Access to scholarly, full-text communication and mass media journals; coverage dates back to 1915.
CQ Researcher
Reports on hot topics and issues, includes topic overview, pro/con essays, and a list of additional resources.
EBook Central
Access over 100,000 ebooks covering a wide range of academic disciplines.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO)
Access to full-text articles on television and film, includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and images from the Image Archive.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals, ebooks, reviews, and pamphlets. Use Journal Filter to narrow down by discipline/subject.
Military & Governement Collection (EBSCO)
Full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
Military Database (ProQuest)
Access to full-text articles covering government and military branches; articles date back to the early 1990's.
ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary, aggregated database; search multiple ProQuest databases simultaneously for ebooks and scholarly articles.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
Full-text psychology database.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)

Access to over 500 full-text psychology journals.
PsycINFO (EBSCO)

This database from the American Psychological Association’s (APA) is a renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations; It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Costa Mesa City Policies

Some Homeless Shelters

Orange County Rescue Mission

(714) 247-4300

Orange Coast Interfaith Shelter

(949) 631-7213

Casa Teresa

(714) 538-4860 ext. 14

Waymakers

(714) 842-6600

Collette's Children's Home

(714) 596-1380

e-Books on Homelessness

Hard Lives, Mean Streets by Jana L. Jasinski
Call Number: e-Book

Publication Date: 2010-05-11
The Dead End Kids of St. Louis by Bonnie Stepenoff
Call Number: e-Book

Publication Date: 2010-05-24
Shelter: Where Harvard Meets the Homless by Scott Seider
Call Number: e-Book

Publication Date: 2010-09-02
Hobos, Hustlers, and Backsliders by Teresa Gowan
Call Number: e-Book

Publication Date: 2010-07-28
Working with Young Homeless People by Phil Robinson
Call Number: e-Book

Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Beside One's Self by Catherine Robinson
Call Number: e-Book

Publication Date: 2011-05-01

Library Tools

Submit a Question
Call 714-966-6382
Stop by a Librarian's Office

Install LibKey Nomad!

Go to libkeynomad.com
Select your browser
Download and install
Select Vanguard University
Go! Check out Wikipedia, PubMed, Sage, and other websites and look for LibKey links.
Look for the "Access Options" button on the websites you visit.

Sociology: Homelessness