LibGuides: Sociology: Ethnicity & Gender

Welcome to Ethnicity & Gender

Websites

Gender and Sexuality Studies
Gender studies on Voice of the Shuttle is maintained by the University of California - Santa Barbara.
National Map of the U.S.
Current and historical topographic information.
Population Pyramid
Select a past or future year and select a country to find its female/male ratio pyramid graph.
Subject Listing of Women and Gender Resources
Related resources to the field of women's and gender studies and to gender-focused scholarship.
United Nations: WomenWatch
"Information and resources on Gender Equality and Empowerment of Women"

Ethnicity & Gender Related Journals

Ethnicity & Gender Related Databases

Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)
Database focused on crime research, includes scholarly articles, trade publications, crime reports, and crime blogs.
Opposing Viewpoints
Information on hot topics and issues; access to pro/con essays, primary resources, video and image files, websites, academic journals, and more.
Statista
The leading global statistics online portal.
The World Factbook (CIA)
A great resource to find facts and demographics on countries and includes brief explanations and history summaries.

Highlighted General Databases

Most of the time, social issues are connected with a variety of disciplines. Think outside the box and see what other disciplines' insight and research has to offer your topic.

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database providing access to full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, and more.
Business Databases (ProQuest)

Search 13 business databases simultaneously – ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, CBCA Complete Business, ebrary ebooks, Hoover’s Company Profiles, OxResearch, ProQuest Asian Business & Reference, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Business, ProQuest Entrepreneurship, ProQuest European Business, ProQuest Research Library: Business, and Snapshots.
CINAHL (EBSCO)
Nursing and health literature, including scholarly journals, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Access to scholarly, full-text communication and mass media journals; coverage dates back to 1915.
CQ Researcher
Reports on hot topics and issues, includes topic overview, pro/con essays, and a list of additional resources.
EBook Central
Access over 100,000 ebooks covering a wide range of academic disciplines.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO)
Access to full-text articles on television and film, includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and images from the Image Archive.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals, ebooks, reviews, and pamphlets. Use Journal Filter to narrow down by discipline/subject.
Military & Governement Collection (EBSCO)
Full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
Military Database (ProQuest)
Access to full-text articles covering government and military branches; articles date back to the early 1990's.
ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary, aggregated database; search multiple ProQuest databases simultaneously for ebooks and scholarly articles.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
Full-text psychology database.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)

Access to over 500 full-text psychology journals.
PsycINFO (EBSCO)

This database from the American Psychological Association’s (APA) is a renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations; It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Religion Database (ProQuest)
Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

Finding Statistics

On the "Social Issues" tab of this LibGuide, you will find statistical websites in the center of the page.

Statistics - Social Issues tab

Books

Immigrant America by Alejandro Portes; Ruben G. Rumbaut
Call Number: JV 6450 P67

Publication Date: 1990-10-03

NOTE: The library has the latest version in ebook format.
The Athena Doctrine by John Gerzema; Michael D'Antonio
Call Number: e-Book

Publication Date: 2013-04-16

Library Tools

Submit a Question
Call 714-966-6382
Stop by a Librarian's Office

Install LibKey Nomad!

Go to libkeynomad.com
Select your browser
Download and install
Select Vanguard University
Go! Check out Wikipedia, PubMed, Sage, and other websites and look for LibKey links.
Look for the "Access Options" button on the websites you visit.

Sociology: Ethnicity & Gender