Have a question regarding library material or research? Click on one of the tabs below. We have an FAQ section covering off-campus access, ebooks, full-text articles and renewals. If you need research help, click on the Ask a Librarian image below and fill out a form, or click on the Ask Us tab to find contact information for all library staff. Feel free to email/call any one of us with questions!
How do I access databases and other e-resources from off campus?
You can also watch the following tutorial: Accessing VUSC Databases from Off Campus
As a member of the Vanguard University community, you have full access to a host of electronic resources, including databases, journals, magazines, music, images, videos, archives, and e-books. Because these are licensed subscriptions, only current students, faculty, and staff of Vanguard have access to them.
What if I can't access a database? Check the following:
Who should I contact if I have difficulties accessing the databases?
Call our Information Technology Department at (714) 619-6500 or email at email@example.com.
Do I have to log in every time I open my browser?
Yes. You will be prompted for your username and password when you try to access the databases. Once you have logged in, you can use different databases without being prompted for your username and password. If you close your browser, you will need to log in again.
I sent myself the link to some articles, but I can't access the article. Why can't I get to it?
Did you send yourself the document URL or copy and paste the URL in the address box? Unfortunately, the URL in the address box isn't stable. You need to grab the document URL (more information about document URLs can be found here). If you did grab the document URL, the URL should have https://vanguard.idm.oclc.org/login?url= at the beginning. If it doesn't, try adding the following URL before the document URL:
For example, if the document URL is
then it would look like this
Then you will be prompted to sign in with your VU username and password. More information about document URLs can be found here.
Can I download ebooks? If I can, how?
Yes, you can! You can download (aka "check out") a book. Depending on the ebook collection, you might have to create an account and download software (Adobe Digital Editions if you're planning on downloading to a computer or Bluefire Reader if you're planning on downloading to a smartphone or tablet). For more information click here.
If I "check out" (download) an ebook, does it disappear after two weeks (the checkout period)?
The ebook will not disappear from the device. It will just become unreadable.
Can I renew the "checked out" (downloaded) ebooks?
Yes! You can download the book again.
How many ebooks can I "check out" (download)?
You can download up to 10 books.
Can you help me find the full text of this article?
Try searching our ejournal portal to see if we have access to that journal. The ejournal portal is located on the library homepage underneath the VANCAT search box. Click on the button and input the title to see if we have access to that journal. You can find a step-by-step guide on searching the ejournal portal here.
Is there any way you can get this book and/or article for me from another library?
Yes we can! The library can try to get a copy of the book and/or article from a sister institution. You just need to email the following information to firstname.lastname@example.org: name, ID #, book title or journal title, article title, authors, and page numbers. Please note that it can take three days to a week for us to get the article, and for books it can take up to three weeks.
How can I renew my book?
You can renew your book by calling the library at 714-966-6381 or by logging into your online account. Directions on logging in to your account can be found here. You cannot renew DVDs or course reserve books online.
How many times can I renew a book?
Students can renew books up to two times. Guests can only renew books once.
Call the Research Help Desk (call 714-966-6382) or submit questions to libanswers.vanguard.edu or use LibChat to talk to a librarian or find the library staff member you wish to contact. You are always welcome to contact the library with your questions!
Pam Crenshaw (Archivist/Director of Library Services)
Phone number: 714-966-6377
Elena Nipper (Reference and Instruction Librarian)
Phone number: 714-966-6378
Michelle Schonken (Reference and Instruction Librarian)
Phone number: 714-966-6384
Christine Cho (Systems Librarian)
Phone number: 714-966-6376
Jack Morgan (Circulation Supervisor)
Jack Morgan is in charge of circulation. Contact Jack with any questions regarding fines, checkouts, overdue items, or library job openings for student workers.
Phone number: 714-966-6380
Steve Valdez (Library Associate)
Steve is in charge of course reserves, interlibrary loans, social media, and library events.
Phone number: 714-966-6375
Abimael Cadenas (Coordinator of Acquisitions and Library Services)
Abi is in charge of budgeting.
Phone number: 714-966-6383