O. Cope Budge Library 2022 NAST Visit: Collections

Physical Collection Overview:

The library's collection of books and journals (both electronic and in print) is searchable through the library's online catalog.

Overall, the library's physical collection consists of:

• 104,872 books
• 23,432 media items (CDs, DVDs, etc.)
• 6,350 journal volumes

While the subject matter that could be applied to theatre arts is vast, a count physical items particularly relevant to theatre is as follows:

• 1,548 print books in the main stacks (1,461), folio (47), and reference (40) collections
• 1,355 print books and materials in the Pike Drama Collection
• 25 CD sets of Acting with an Accent
• 45 DVDs covering theatre related studies
• 1,187 musical and vocal scores
• 5 print journal titles

An spreadsheet list of titles included in the above count is available for download:

892 electronic books related to theatre arts are available in the following databases:

An spreadsheet list of titles included in the above count is available for download:

The library currently has 45,649 electronic and print journal titles in its collection.

48 different databases provide indexing and/or full-text access to electronic journals.

All journal holdings are listed online through the library's Journal Portal. Relevant subjects are linked below.

Ninety-three different databases provide access to over 200,000 ebooks, more than 125,000 media files, and over 45,000 separate electronic journal titles—equaling millions of full-text, peer-reviewed articles. Of particular importance are Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO), and ProQuest Central.

A comprehensive A to Z list of databases available to Vanguard students is available on the library website.

A list of particularly relevant databases is given below.