A PDF version of this report is available.
The Vanguard University Theatre Arts Department is served by the O. Cope Budge Library and personnel. Collections of print and electronic books, playbooks, journals, music CDs, and musical and vocal scores support the curriculum of the Theatre Arts Department.
Library mission statement: The O. Cope Budge Library acquires, manages, and promotes the use of information resources in a user-centered environment. The library links students, faculty, and staff to an increasingly global body of knowledge. The librarians promote personal enrichment, foster multicultural appreciation, stimulate critical thinking, and encourage lifelong learning. Through its personnel, resources, and services, the library supports the educational targets, goals, and curriculum.
The O. Cope Budge Library serves all university departments, including the Theatre Arts Department. The Senior Director of the Library reports to the Dean of Teaching and Learning, who sits on the University Dean’s Council. Two librarians currently serve as full members of faculty and participate in multiple committees, including: undergraduate and graduate curriculum committees, the Promotion and Tenure Committee, and the Academic Technology & Instructional Space Committee.
The library holdings are adequate for theatre research needs (undergraduate, general and faculty teaching/research). Theatre-related subjects covered include: Theatre (acting and stage production), Costume, Fashion, Architecture, Furniture, Interior Design, Psychology of the Arts, Playbooks, European Drama, and Voice/Accent materials.
Morris Pike, faculty emeritus in drama, donated his collection of about 250 modern plays to the Vanguard library when he retired in May 1998. Additional items have been added to this collection in consultation with the Theatre Department faculty.
Please consult the Collections Page of this guide.
As of January 2022, the library’s music-related holdings include:
Archives: Currently the archives include a list of past theatre productions, some theatre programs, promotional materials for theatre productions, and photos.
Cooperative Agreements: There are several university theatre programs within 20 miles of Vanguard University: California State University-Fullerton, Chapman University, University of California-Irvine, Concordia University-Irvine and California State University-Long Beach. Each of these universities has libraries with theatre resources, which can be used by VU students and/or obtained through interlibrary loan.
There are two faculty librarians, one ¾ time staff librarian, and 2 staff personnel. (Currently one of our staff positions is vacant.)
The VU Library is open 72.5 hours per week during Fall and Spring semesters. During the pandemic, remote library services have been available approximately 55 hours a week. A faculty librarian is on duty 52.5 hours per week
VU Library’s cloud-based library catalog and databases are used by theatre students. The catalog and databases are available 24/7 on VU Library’s web page through VU password protected access.
VU Library participates in interlibrary loan through OCLC and the Southern California Theological Library Association (SCATLA).
Reference services and library instruction is offered to theatre students as needed. LibGuides for History of Theatre, Film & Media Studies, and other relevant subjects are available online.
The Vanguard Library building is approximately 15,000 square feet. On the second floor, the Library contains 6 group study rooms, 2 large study areas with soft seating, tables and chairs, and group and individual study tables. On the first floor, there is a large study room, individual study nooks, a small reference room, and a computer lab.
The VU Library contains 3 group study rooms on second floor, which contain monitors that can be attached to a student’s computer. VGA and audio jacks allow for CD and DVD usage. In each room, there are two ports available for Ethernet (although wireless access is available throughout the library). On the first floor, there are also 24 computers available in the Library Computer Lab, as well as 27 computers in the reference area. Headphones may be checked out at the Library Circulation Desk, so that there will be minimal disturbance of other students. For older media, such as videos and microforms, there are 2 televisions with video players and a microform machine where students can view microfilm or microfiche.
Playbooks and musical and vocal scores are cataloged using the ANSCR classification scheme (Alpha-Numeric System for Classification of Recordings). Musical and vocal scores are located on second floor.
Theatre-related books and playbooks are cataloged using the Library of Congress Classification system and are located on first floor of the general collection, course reserves, in the Pike Drama Collection and on the second floor among the folio collection.
The Library provides printer kiosks, a copier/scanner and a dedicated book scanner for student needs. Copyright guidelines are posted as required.
Beginning 2018, the library’s method of allocating acquisitions funds was simplified. Due to the restructuring of departments and a greater emphasis on electronic content, the library ceased allocating funds to each academic division. Rather all print materials are purchased from a common $16,000 fund. In addition to these funds, approximately $190,000 is spent per year on electronic resources, covering a broad range of subjects including the humanities and arts.
New print acquisitions are selected by the Theatre Department and Library Faculty according to curricular need. When items are ready for use, the library informs the Theatre Department of their availability.