LibGuides: English Literature & Theory: Shakespeare Studies

Shakespeare Resources

MIT Shakespeare Project
Open access resources on Shakespeare from MIT.
No Sweat Shakespeare
A compendium of fun resources on Shakespeare.
Shakespeare Dictionary
Handy dictionary to words found in Shakespeare's works.
Shakespeare - Timeline
About Shakespeare's Elizabethan England
Shakespeare Online
Top-rated Shakespearean resource site by Merriam-Webster Dictionary, Access Magazine, Microsoft and U.S. Government. Well-organized FAQ.
Shakespeare Resource Center
Presentation on the life and works of William Shakespeare. Includes a biography, plot synopses of his plays, an essay on Shakespeare's Globe Theater, an overview of Elizabethan England, and discussion on the authorship debate. Specially selected for Encyclopædia Britannica's Guide to Shakespeare.
Shakespearean Videos - Kennedy Center
Playlist of 16 short YouTube videos from The Kennedy Center about Shakespeare.
Shakesper: The Global Electronic Shakespeare Conference
24th year in academic institution, focusing on scholarly material. Cornucopia of Shakespeare online resources.

Search within these journals through keyword searches or clicking on publication years and dates.

Shakespeare Quarterly
Noteworthy, very useful, "go-to" scholarly journal. Full-text from 1988 to 2011 (ProQuest).

more... less...

Founded in 1950 by the Shakespeare Association of America, it is a refereed journal committed to publishing articles in vanguard of Shakespeare studies. Features new information on Shakespeare and his age, issue and exchange sections for latest ideas and controversies, theater reviews of significant Shakespeare productions, and book reviews to keep readers current with Shakespeare criticism and scholarship.
Shakespeare Studies (Columbia)
An international volume of essays, studies and reviews dealing with the cultural history of early modern England and the place of Shakespeare's production in it. From 1975-present (Academic Search Premier)
Shakespeare Bulletin
Shakespeare Newsletter
From 2001-2012 (Literature Resource Center)
Shakespeare in Southern Africa
Multicultural Shakespeare

Some helpful links for Shakespearean Literature & Research:

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO)
Access to full-text articles on television and film, includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and images from the Image Archive.
JSTOR
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals, ebooks, reviews, and pamphlets. Use Journal Filter to narrow down by discipline/subject.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Published by Johns Hopkins University Press, Folger Shakespeare Library and Shakespeare Quarterly. Provides most extensive Shakespearean annotated entries for all important multi-media materials produced between 1960-2013. International in scope.

Go to libkeynomad.com
Select your browser
Download and install
Select Vanguard University
Go! Check out Wikipedia, PubMed, Sage, and other websites and look for LibKey links.
Look for the "Access Options" button on the websites you visit.