Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literature Full-Text Databases & Websites
Here you can find full-text online resources for literary works.
Gale’s core repository of literary works. Extensive selection of online poems, short stories, novels, essays, speeches and plays. More than 80,000 authors, 660 nationalities and virtually every time period.
The Internet's oldest -- and one of the largest -- provider of free electronic books where you can download over 30,000 free ebooks. Find classic works or relatively unknown texts in many different languages.
Colorado State University Literature Collection
Detailed listing from select full-text literature websites.
Internet Classics Archives
441 works of classical literature.
The Literature Network
Over 200 full books and over 800 short stories and poems by over 70 authors. Links to theories and biographies of theorists by University of Minnesota.
The Online Books Page
University of Pennsylvania resource listing over 1 million free online books.
Free Online Literature with more than 2000 Classic Texts
Bartleby Library: Great Books Online
The classics of literature (poetry & prose), nonfiction, and reference free online.
Children's Books Online: The Rosetta Project
Largest collection of children's illustrated literature online. 1,700 plus pages of classic children's books published in the 19th and early 20th century.
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
This Digital Library project from the New York Public Library includes a digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers.
A "Books in Your Email" service, many of the books are in the public domain and are free. Others are contemporary or bestsellers and require a fee.
Library of Southern Literature
Documents riches and diversity of Southern experience as presented in 100 of its most important literary works, from Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Modern English Collection
Large collection of classic works online from the Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia.
Harvard Classics Shelf of Fiction
Most comprehensive and well-researched anthology of all time comprises both the 50-volume “5-foot shelf of books” and the the 20-volume Shelf of Fiction. Together they cover every major literary figure, philosopher, religion, folklore and historical subject through the twentieth century.
American literary classics library.
ALEX Catalogue of Electronic Texts
Full-text documents in English literature, American Literature, and Western Philosophy. Can also search within the texts themselves.
All of these are free except for Audible.
Search our University library for books, movies, and much more.
- Call 714-966-6382
- Stop by a Librarian's Office
- Submit an Ask-A-Librarian Question Form for an email reply HERE
- Instant message with LibChat (below)