LibGuides: Business: Case Studies

Databases with Business Case Studies

Vanguard subscribes to multiple databases that contain case studies. In general, you can search for case studies by limiting your search to "Case Study" in "Document Type." For specific instructions, hover your cursor over the icons below.

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest) To limit your results to case studies, select "Business Case" and/or "Case Study" for Document Type.
Gold standard when it comes to business research databases. Massive
content set includes important full-text journals and
sought-after titles from the business press as well as key trade
publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market
reports. ABI/INFORM Complete includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global,
ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Research, and ABI/INFORM Trade and
Industry. It also includes ABI/INFORM Archive, which offers a deep
backfile of many of the most important business journals of the last
century.

Through agreements with some of the world¹s most prestigious
publishers‹including Cambridge University Press, Dow Jones & Company,
Emerald Group Publishing, Dun and Bradstreet, Palgrave MacMillan, the
Financial Times Group, and the Economist Intelligence Unit‹ProQuest
provides access to hundreds of key business titles.

Key ongoing full-text journals include:

* Journal of Economic Literature
* Journal of International Business Studies
* Organization Science
* Journal of Economic Perspectives
* Academy of Marketing Science Journal
* American Economic Review
* Accounting Review
* Supply Chain Management
* MIT Sloan Management Review
* China Quarterly

Key ongoing full-text periodicals include:

* Wall Street Journal
* Financial Times
* Economist
* SmartMoney

Key ongoing full-text analyses include market and industry reports from:

* Economist Intelligence Unit
* Hoovers/Dunn and Bradstreet
* Business Monitor International
* Oxford Analytica
* Oxford Economic Forecasting
* ISI Emerging Markets
Accounting, Tax & Banking (ProQuest) To limit your results to case studies, select "Business Case" and/or "Case Study" for Document Type.
Asian and European Business Collection (ProQuest) To limit your results to case studies, select "Business Case" and/or "Case Study" for Document Type.
Business Databases (ProQuest) To limit your results to case studies, select "Business Case" and/or "Case Study" for Document Type.
Search 13 business databases simultaneously – ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting & Tax, Banking Information Source, CBCA Complete Business, ebrary ebooks, Hoover’s Company Profiles, OxResearch, ProQuest Asian Business & Reference, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Business, ProQuest Entrepreneurship, ProQuest European Business, ProQuest Research Library: Business, and Snapshots.
Business Source Elite (EBSCO) To limit your results to case studies, select "Case Study" for the Document Type. To narrow results further, select "Full Text" under "Limit your results."

Journals with Business Case Studies

Allied Academies International Conference Academy of Legal, Ethical and Regulatory Issues. Proceedings
Case Studies in Business, Industry and Government Statistics: CSBIGS Main objective is to publish high-quality case studies in modern data analysis ready to use for instruction, training or self-study. The case studies consist of an innovative and interesting well-written presentation of novel statistical techniques applied to known data or of known statistical techniques applied to novel data.
International Journal of Case Studies in Management The only peer-reviewed journal (double-blind review process) that publishes cases in French and English that are international in scope, accompanied by detailed teaching notes and cover all fields of management.
Journal of Business Case Studies The intent of JBCS is to publish papers that significantly contribute to the field of teaching & learning by using business case studies.
Journal of Case Research Publishes Research Cases, Teaching Cases & Innovations in Case Methodology in the field of management relating to Organizations and Institutions in Business, Industry, Government, Non- Government and Communities.
Journal of Information Systems Education Peer reviewed journal that focuses on IS education, pedagogy, and curriculum including (but not limited to) model curriculum, course projects/cases, course materials, curriculum design & implementation, outcomes assessment, distance education challenges, capstone learning projects, and technology selection & impact.
Journal of International Academy for Case Studies Aims to provide a comprehensive overview of the business and management by including all the key areas within the field of business administration including human resource management, business economics, laws & ethics, corporate social responsibility, finance, accounting, marketing, etc.
MIT Sloan Management Review A research-based magazine and digital platform for business executives published quarterly at MIT. A few business cases may be found in this publication.
Thunderbird Case Studies Selection of Thunderbird cases from American Garvin School of International Management.

Books with Business Case Studies

Business cases can be found in a number of electronic and print books in Vanguard's collection. One way to search for these resources is to go to the Vanguard University Library Catalog (VanCat) and enter search terms following this pattern:

"case studies" AND leadership
"case studies" AND project management
"case studies" AND business ethics
"case studies" AND diversity

You can narrow your search to "books" (either electronic or print) by using the "Format" search filter to the left of the search results.

See also the direct links to "Catalog Searches" in the right column.

Open Access Business Case Studies

Acadia Institute of Case Studies (archived link)
The Acadia Institute of Case Studies is a non-profit centre in the School of Business Administration, Acadia University. The Institute's focus is on entrepreneurship and small business operations.
Arthur Andersen Case Studies in Business Ethics (Carnegie Mellon)
From 1987-1994, Arthur Andersen funded a $5 million joint project with 525 universities to raise awareness of business ethics. This collection of 90 case studies is one product of that effort. All participating universities (includes BU) have license to use these materials and reproduce them as needed for instructional purposes.
Case Centre
Case Centre offers a wide range of free cases produced by many prominent schools and organizations across the globe. You must be registered and logged into the website to access free cases. Once logged in, you can use "show only items in the free case collection" tick box in the product search to search all free cases.
Copenhagen Business School Case Studies (Case Centre)
Cases focus on responsible management, social responsibility, anti-corruption, and sustainability. With responsible management as a common theme, cases address a number of interdisciplinary subjects, making them suitable for a wide range of business courses. New free cases are added regularly.
Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative - Anderson School of Management
"Online library of simple, straightforward business cases focused on principle-based ethics."
Eforce Case Studies (Case Centre)
Free case collection that includes 18 innovative teaching cases on technology entrepreneurship. The cases all have accompanying teaching notes and many have media support items, details of which are displayed in product search.
Ethics Unwrapped
Concepts Unwrapped, is a series of animated short videos covering topics in behavioral and business ethics. The videos are freely available online and are accompanied by teaching guides that "provide a platform for fostering meaningful discussion in the classroom."
Highlighted Cases and Case Studies: Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative
Online library of "simple, straightforward business cases focused on principle-based ethics."
Ivey Business School (UWO) free cases
Ivey is well known for its case method of learning and is a top publisher of business cases worldwide. Approximately 20 free cases are available.
Knowledge@Wharton
"The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania is committed to sharing its intellectual capital through Knowledge@Wharton, the school’s online business analysis journal." (About) Expand the Topics menu to link to podcasts and research articles.
LearningEdge at MIT Sloan
Collection of teaching case studies developed by MIT Sloan faculty and students. May be downloaded, copied, distributed free of charge by anyone through creative commons license. Topics include entrepreneurship, leadership and ethics, operations management, strategy, sustainability, and system dynamics.
Legatum Center for Development and Entrepreneurship at MIT (Case Centre)
Collection of cases that focus on the thought processes of entrepreneurs, the challenges they face, and the solutions they devise as they develop their businesses. Cases are available without charge to help teachers, students, and aspiring entrepreneurs.
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics at Santa Clara University: Ethics Cases
Case studies and scenarios on a variety of fields in applied ethics (including business and leadership).
Merlot OER Case Studies
Merlot collects Open Educational Resources. This link is a search for business case materials that may be used for free.
Nanyang Technopreneurship Case Centre
Includes 27 free cases covering technopreneurship topics.
oikos International Cases
Currently consists of over 80 peer-reviewed cases on sustainability in management and entrepreneurship
Rutgers School of Management and Labor Relations
From Rutgers' Curriculum Library for Employee Ownership Collection. Includes Free Case Studies of employee owned companies.
Society of Human Resources Management
Case studies are available for HR faculty and instructors to use in HR classrooms at universities, as expressed in the Terms of Use for Faculty. Teaching notes are often included with each.
SSRN: Boston University Questrom School of Business Research Paper Series
Includes research papers written by Questrom faculty. A small number of cases are included.
SSRN: Darden Case Collection
More than 4,000 cases from Darden Business Publishing. Many are available for free, but some need to be purchased.
SSRN: Management Educator: Courses, Cases & Teaching eJournal
"Promotes innovative approaches to curricular development, course content and delivery systems, student learning, and other educational issues that are important to management faculty to meet the growing demand for discussions, research and analysis on teaching management."
Stanford Graduate School of Business - free cases
Click on "Narrow your results" and then under Availability select "Available to download at no charge."
Stanford Graduate School of Business Case Studies (Case Centre)
Cases are available free to registered educators at thecasecentre.org. Covers a wide range of topics including Entrepreneurship, Strategic Management, Social Innovation, Global Supply Chain, and International Business.
Ted Rogers Leadership Centre, Ryerson University: Case Study Collection
Cases developed by Ted Rogers Leadership Centre for classroom use.
University of British Columbia: Open Case Studies
Many of the UBC case studies focus on topics in sustainability, but cases on other topics such as business and economics are also included.
World Business Council for Sustainable Development Case Studies
WBCSD is a global, CEO-led organization of over 200 leading businesses working together to accelerate the transition to a sustainable world.
Yale School of Management - Free Cases
Free cases written by Yale faculty on a variety of topics.

Catalog Searches

Library of Congress Subject Headings:

Library Tools

Submit a Question
Call 714-966-6382
Stop by a Librarian's Office

Install LibKey Nomad!

Go to libkeynomad.com
Select your browser
Download and install
Select Vanguard University
Go! Check out Wikipedia, PubMed, Sage, and other websites and look for LibKey links.
Look for the "Access Options" button on the websites you visit.

Business: Case Studies