Nursing: Advanced Searching: Searching for Journals

Explore these individual scholarly journals online and read full-text articles.

A comprehensive list of full-text nursing journals available to VU is available in both the Journal Portal and BrowZine.

Found the perfect article but can't find the full text? Try searching the Journal Portal, which is basically a comprehensive list of all of Vanguard University's journals. Here is a step-by-step guide in searching the portal:

Lets say you're trying to find the full text for "South Korea and Japan's frictions over history" written by Kiwoong Yang and published in Asian Perspective in 2008 volume 32 issue 3 pages 59-86. 

1. On the library homepage click on the Journal Portal button located underneath VANCAT. 

2. In the drop down menu, select "Title contains all words" and type in the journal title in the search box. 

3. The search result will give you the information you need about the journal. In the example below:

• The cover of the journal is pictured.
• A link is provided to BrowZine (which allows you to quickly view the contents of each journal issue in context).
• An note is given indicating that the journal is peer reviewed.
• Multiple databases are listed - each containing a date range of the journal. Click the database name that holds the journal year that you are seeking.

4. Click on the database you select and then use the database's interface to navigate to the appropriate year.

BrowZine lets you virtually browse scholarly e-journals available from Vanguard on the web or in its mobile app. BrowZine's multi-level subject categories help you find new journals relevant to your research interests. With a personal account, you can then create custom journal collections called bookshelves, set up new article alerts, and create personal article collections. BrowZine makes it easy to stay current in your field.

BrowZine lets you virtually browse scholarly e-journals available from Vanguard on the web or in its mobile app. BrowZine's multi-level subject categories help you find new journals relevant to your research interests. With a personal account, you can then create custom journal collections called bookshelves, set up new article alerts, and create personal article collections. BrowZine makes it easy to stay current in your field.

Getting Started With BrowZine

From the library home page, you can click the BrowZine link (below VANCAT):

Or, you can go directly to browzine.com and select 'Vanguard University' under "Choose My Library."

It is best to create an account:

• Go to Settings
• Under BrowZine Account, click Login, then Sign up
• NOTE: There's also a mobile app available!
  • Download the BrowZine app from your app store
  • Select Vanguard University from the library list
  • Follow the steps in the app to sign up for an account.

How Can I Use BrowZine?

• View a journal's table of contents, including a list of articles in press
• Get one-click access to full text or Interlibrary Loan options from the Vanguard library
• Browse and search for journals by title, academic discipline, keyword, and Scimago Journal Rank
• Export citations to your favorite citation manager
• Share citations and BrowZine links via email, Twitter, Facebook, and more

Create an Account with BrowZine to:

• Use My Bookshelf to create custom journal lists (up to 64 titles)
• Set up notifications when new articles in your journals are published
  • Easily mark articles as read to keep track of your readings
• Create custom article collections for your research and teaching needs (up to 500 articles)
  • Collections sync across your web and mobile devices
  • On BrowZine mobile (iOS and Android) save PDFs for offline reading

ASK A
LIBRARIAN!

• Submit a Question
• Call 714-966-6382
• Stop by a Librarian's Office

Install LibKey Nomad!

• Go to libkeynomad.com 
• Select your browser
• Download and install
• Select Vanguard University
• Go! Check out Wikipedia, PubMed, Sage, and other websites and look for LibKey links.
• Look for the "Access Options" button on the websites you visit.
• 

Helpful Links