Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to Anthropology
Anthropology is the study of humankind to better understand how we develop and interact as cultures and societies.
Some Highlighted Anthropology Databases
Oxford Bibliographies - Anthropology
Featuring topical anthropological content, in a high-level encyclopedia alternative to Wikipedia with annotated bibliography and recommended readings directly searchable in Google Books, WorldCat and the VU Catalog.
A cross-cultural database for comparing cultures around the world.
Highlighted General Databases
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database providing access to full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, and more.
Biography in Context (Gale)
Reference information covering historical figures and "present-day news makers"; provides access to magazine and journal articles, videos, primary sources, and audio and image files.
Reports on hot topics and issues, includes topic overview, pro/con essays, and a list of additional resources.
Access over 100,000 ebooks covering a wide range of academic disciplines.
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals, ebooks, reviews, and pamphlets. Use Journal Filter to narrow down by discipline/subject.
A multidisciplinary, aggregated database; search multiple ProQuest databases simultaneously for ebooks and scholarly articles.
- Call 714-966-6382
- Stop by a Librarian's Office
- Submit an Ask-A-Librarian Question Form for an email reply HERE
- Instant message with LibChat (below)
This guide was created by Michelle Schonken. It was maintained and updated by Christine Shin.