Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government databases that host research articles:
Professional organizations - hubs for publishing, job searching, development
VUSC Resources for the Sciences
Each vendor (ProQuest, EBSCO, etc.) offers access to different journals and their articles, with little overlap.
Try different database vendors to see their searching features and get different search results.
Try different subject specific databases within a vendor to narrow your search.
Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO)
Full-text articles covering holistic medicine and therapies.
Nursing and health literature, including scholarly journals, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings.
Health Source-Nursing (EBSCO)
Access to over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on medicine - specifically nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO)
Access to over 2,400 medical journals.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database providing access to full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, and more.
Health & Medicine (ProQuest)
Search nine ProQuest health databases simultaneously - CBA complete: Health & Medicine, Ebook Central, Pharmaceutical News Index, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Health Medicine, ProQuest Consumer Health, ProQuest Health and Medical Complete, ProQuest Health Management, ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source, and ProQuest Research Library: Health & Medicine.
Science & Technology Databases (ProQuest)
Search nine science databases simultaneously – CBCA Complete, Ebook Central, ProQuest Biology Journals, ProQuest Career and Technical Education: Science & Technology, ProQuest Computing, ProQuest Military Collection, ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology, ProQuest Science Journals, and ProQuest Telecommunications.
Biology Database (ProQuest)
Access full-text biology scholarly articles.
Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
Nursing and allied health journals, videos, dissertations, and more.
Science Database (ProQuest)
Access to over 760 full-text science journals.
Consumer Health Database (ProQuest)
Journals and magazines focusing on health subjects.
A multidisciplinary, aggregated database; search multiple ProQuest databases simultaneously for ebooks and scholarly articles.
Various database vendors (each one special for its content and features)
Database of life science and biomedical references and abstracts.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
Peer-reviewed, full-text database that includes medical, scientific, and technical content.
Multidisciplinary database with scholarly journals, ebooks, reviews, and pamphlets. Use Journal Filter to narrow down by discipline/subject.
Information on hot topics and issues; access to pro/con essays, primary resources, video and image files, websites, academic journals, and more.
- Call 714-966-6382
- Stop by a Librarian's Office
- Submit an Ask-A-Librarian Question Form for an email reply HERE
- Instant message with LibChat (below)
This guide was created by Michelle Schonken. It was maintained and updated by Christine Shin.