Type in search box to get instant results in our top literature database!
Just type directly in search box to obtain accurate definitions and meanings to words and phrases.
Search our literature-specific databases here at Vanguard.
- Artemis Literary Sources (Gale)
A global interface that allows easy Google-like searching for literature databases - Literature Resource Center and LitFinder.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Most current, comprehensive, and reliable online literature resource. Information on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines.
- Litfinder (Gale)
International in scope, covers all time periods, and contains literature content.
- The John Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements.
- Alexander Street Literature
Over 600,000 pages of poetry, short stories, novels and non-fiction in 8 cross-searchable multicultural literature collections.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full-Text (EBSCO)
300 scholarly journals, magazines, reviews, and book chapters on film and television criticism, history, theory, production, cinematography, screenwriting, and literary adaptations. 120 are full-text.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography (John Hopkins)
Most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions. Essential research tool on Shakespeare or early modern England. Over 133,102 annotated entries.
- Romanticism Redefined (ASP)
Pre-eminent content from Romantic Period. Emphasis on literature, but also includes letters, diaries, literary criticisms, speeches, historical writings, social/cultural contexts, etc. Powerful search and browse functions.
- Oxford Reference Online - Literature
A collection of over 125 core academic subject, language, and quotations dictionaries providing carefully vetted quick results that users can trust. 2 million entries in single cross-searchable resource.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete (ProQuest)
43 superior Literature reference works.
- Project Muse Humanities
Project MUSE is a popular provider of digital humanities with perhaps the most user-friendly interface making browsing for exceptional literature and research discoverable, easy, and more graphic.
- Biography in Context
Search biographies of authors, including related articles and literature.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Provides access to free, full-text scholarly journals and articles.
- Ebrary Ebooks
Contains appx. 90,000 full-text online books.
- Academic Search Premier
World's largest scholarly, multi-discipline full-text database.
- Haithi Trust
Digitized online books and materials from universities and organizations around the world.
Digitized journals, ebooks and primary sources. Collection strong in back issues. For literature, check box next to "Language and Literature" under "Narrow by Discipline" in Advanced Search.
- OmniFile Full-Text
OmniFile Full Text covers core subjects, including applied sciences, humanities, law, social sciences and technology.
- Research Library (ProQuest)
Provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer.
- EBSCO MAS Ultra
General Database that contains articles that are easier to read.
Sonya Vega True, MSLIS
Asst Professor and Digital Initiatives Librarian
, Electronic Resources
, Information Technology
, Art and Art History
, Literature and Literary Theory
Reference Librarian on Duty
Fall 2013 Hours:
Monday-Thursday: 7:30am to 11pm