LibGuides: History & Political Science: History

Image courtesy of Wikipedia Commons

History resources

(Political Science resources are on the next menu page)

All-Purpose Sources

Start with the library catalog to search for print books, electronic books, articles, videos, etc.

https://www.vanguard.edu/academics/library

Academic Search Ultimate, ProQuest Central, and JSTOR are great places to find periodicals (scholarly journals).

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database providing access to full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, book reviews, and more.
ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary, aggregated database; search multiple ProQuest databases simultaneously for ebooks and scholarly articles.
JSTOR
"The searchable journal database...including history and politcal science sources, and some historical primary documents."

Google Books, The Internet Archive, HathiTrust Digital Library are great places to find primary documents and historical resources!

Google Books
Secondary sources, as well as older primary sources – books, journals and magazines. Many are in the original texts.
The Internet Archive
A fantastic collection of both recent and very old books, journals, newspapers, archives, and more — pulled together in one database. Search by author, title, or even phrase within texts.
more...less...
Most recently published items are only available for a short amount of time with a free personal account.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A collection of many full-text books digitized from university libraries around the world. (Works in copyright are searchable but not viewable.)

Be sure to check out the many tutorials available in the Library 101 Guide!

American History Sources

Online resources to primary American history sources

Advertising Periodicals, 1815-1888 (EBSCO)
The titles in the Advertising Periodicals, 1815-1888 collection illustrate consumer marketing in the 19th century, showing the various goods and services available and how retailers marketed them.

Chicago Tribune Archive (Beta site)
While the Chicago Tribune archive site is in its beta and developing stages, we can access them free. Take advantage of this while we can!
Chronicling America
National Digital Newspaper Program "provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages."
EugenicsArchive.org
A collection of primary sources on the American eugenics movement.
Fraser
Documents from American economic history.
Google Newspapers
A collection of old newspaper clippings hosted by Google. Key-word searchable.
History Matters
George Mason University’s collection of documents from American history.
Library of Congress’ American Memory Project
Provides access to the Library of Congress’s expansive collection of American historical materials that have been digitized.
Making of America
A collection of primary sources on American social history from the Antebellum period through Reconstruction.
Our Documents
A collection of documents from American history.
PEN America's Digital Archive
More than 1,500 hours of audio and video going back as far as 1966. These recordings of meetings, debates, and panel discussions offer a wealth of literary and cultural discourse.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Collection of all official presidential papers in the National Archives.
Robert H. Jackson Center
Writings of the Supreme Court Justice, Robert Jackson (1892-1954).

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
This database "includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The database also has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. We have provided more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century. We provide word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. We have also included many modern histories of slavery.

The Social Welfare History Image Portal
Curates ads, pamphlets, placards, and other ephemera from social movements such as women's suffrage.
Uncle Tom’s Cabin and American Culture
Texts related to Harriet Beecher Stowe’s abolitionist novel.
UNZ.org
A collection of primary sources by a lay historian – newspapers, magazines, and some books.
Western Michigan University’s Civil War Collection
A collection of civil war documents. Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln.

Congress Records

Annals of Congress 1789-1824
Debates and Proceedings, 1789-1824.

Congressional Globe 1833-1873
Debates and Proceedings, 1833-1873.

Congressional Record 1873-1875
Debates and Proceedings, 1873-1875.

Congressional Record 1877
PDF file of published Congressional Record, 1877. This is a huge file, so please be patient when it loads.
Congressional Record 1878
Published Congressional Record, 1878.
Congressional Record 1880
Published Congressional Record, 1880.
Congressional Record 1882
Published Congressional Record, 1882.
Congressional Record 1884
Published Congressional Record, 1884.
Congressional Record 1885
Published Congressional Record, 1885.
Congressional Record 1886
Published Congressional Record, 1886.
Congressional Record 1887
Published Congressional Record, 1887.
Congressional Record 1888
Published Congressional Record, 1888.
Congressional Record 1889
Published Congressional Record, 1889.
Congressional Record 1890
Published Congressional Record, 1890.
Congressional Record 1891
Published Congressional Record, 1891.

Congressional Record 1892
Published Congressional Record, 1892.
Congressional Record 1893
Published Congressional Record, 1893.
Congressional Report 1894
Published Congressional Record, 1894.
Congressional Report 1896
Published Congressional Record, 1896.
Congressional Record 1899
Published Congressional Record, 1899.
Congressional Report 1900
Published Congressional Record, 1900.
Congressional Record 1901
Published Congressional Record, 1901.
Congressional Record 1902
Published Congressional Record, 1902.
Congressional Record 1905
Published Congressional Record, 1905.
Congressional Record 1906
Published Congressional Record, 1906.
Congressional Record 1907
Published Congressional Record, 1907.
Congressional Record 1909
Published Congressional Record, 1909.
Congressional Record 1910
Published Congressional Record, 1910.

Congressional Record 1911
Published Congressional Record, 1911.
Congressional Record 1912
Published Congressional Record, 1912.
Congressional Record 1913
Published Congressional Record, 1913.
Congressional Record 1914
Published Congressional Record, 1914.
Congressional Record 1915
Published Congressional Record, 1915.
Congressional Record 1916
Published Congressional Record, 1916.
Congressional Record 1917
Published Congressional Record, 1917.
Congressional Record 1918
Published Congressional Record, 1918.
Congressional Record 1919
Published Congressional Record, 1919.
Congressional Record 1920
Published Congressional Record, 1920.
Congressional Record 1922
Published Congressional Record, 1922.
Congressional Record 1923
Published Congressional Record, 1923.
Congressional Record 1924
Published Congressional Record, 1924.

Congressional Record 1925
Published Congressional Record, 1925.
Congressional Record 1926
Published Congressional Record, 1926.
Congressional Record 1927
Published Congressional Record, 1927.
Congressional Record 1928
Published Congressional Record, 1928.
Congressional Record 1929
Published Congressional Record, 1929.
Congressional Record 1930
Published Congressional Record, 1930.
Congressional Record 1931
Published Congressional Record, 1931.
Congressional Record 1932
Published Congressional Record, 1932.
Congressional Record 1933
Published Congressional Record, 1933.
Congressional Record 1934
Published Congressional Record, 1934.
Congressional Record 1935
Published Congressional Record, 1935.
Congressional Record 1936
Published Congressional Record, 1936.
Congressional Record 1937
Published Congressional Record, 1937.

Congressional Record 1938
Published Congressional Record, 1938.
Congressional Record 1939
Published Congressional Record, 1939.
Congressional Record 1940
Published Congressional Record, 1940.
Congressional Record 1941
Published Congressional Record, 1941.
Congressional Record 1942
Published Congressional Record, 1942.
Congressional Record 1943
Published Congressional Record, 1943.
Congressional Record 1944
Published Congressional Record, 1944.
Congressional Record 1945
Published Congressional Record, 1945.
Congressional Record 1946
Published Congressional Record, 1946.
Congressional Record 1947
Published Congressional Record, 1947.
Congressional Record 1948
Published Congressional Record, 1948.
Congressional Record 1950
Published Congressional Record, 1950.
Congressional Record 1951
Published Congressional Record, 1951.

Congressional Record 1952
Published Congressional Record, 1952.
Congressional Record 1953
Published Congressional Record, 1953.
Congressional Record 1954
Published Congressional Record, 1954.
Congressional Record 1955
Published Congressional Record, 1955.
Congressional Record 1956
Published Congressional Record, 1956.
Congressional Record 1957
Published Congressional Record, 1957.
Congressional Record 1958
Published Congressional Record, 1958.
Congressional Record 1959
Published Congressional Record, 1959.
Congressional Record 1960
Published Congressional Record, 1960.
Congressional Record 1961
Published Congressional Record, 1961.
Congressional Record 1962
Published Congressional Record, 1962.
Congressional Record 1964
Published Congressional Record, 1964.
Congressional Record 1965
Published Congressional Record, 1965.
Congressional Record 1966
Published Congressional Record, 1966.

Congressional Record 1967
Published Congressional Record, 1967.
Congressional Record 1968
Published Congressional Record, 1968.
Congressional Record 1969
Published Congressional Record, 1969.
Congressional Record 1970
Published Congressional Record, 1970.
Congressional Record 1971
Published Congressional Record, 1971.
Congressional Record 1972
Published Congressional Record, 1972.
Congressional Record 1973
Published Congressional Record, 1973.
Congressional Record 1974
Published Congressional Record, 1974.
Congressional Record 1975
Published Congressional Record, 1975.
Congressional Record 1976
Published Congressional Record, 1976.
Congressional Record 1977
Published Congressional Record, 1977.
Congressional Record 1978
Published Congressional Record, 1978.
Congressional Record 1979
Published Congressional Record, 1979.
Congressional Record 1980
Published Congressional Record, 1980.
Congressional Record 1981
Published Congressional Record, 1981.

Congressional Record 1982
Published Congressional Record, 1982.
Congressional Record 1983
Published Congressional Record, 1983.
Congressional Record 1984
Published Congressional Record, 1984.
Congressional Record 1985
Published Congressional Record, 1985.
Congressional Record 1986
Published Congressional Record, 1986.
Congressional Record 1987
Published Congressional Record, 1987.
Congressional Record 1988
Published Congressional Record, 1988.
Congressional Record 1993
Published Congressional Record, 1993.

Congressional Record 1995-Present
Find an issue of the Record, 1995 - Present.

World History Sources

"These are digital sources from ancient, medieval and modern history. You can use these sources to locate texts, but be sure to at least try finding them in actual books when you cite them." - Dr. Kevin Walker

Archive.org
A non-profit collection of original documents, books and other sources.
Avalon Project
Yale Law School’s collection of ancient, medieval and modern primary sources on law and diplomacy.
German Propaganda Archive
Calvin College’s collection of Nazi-era propaganda.
Hanover College Historical Text Collection
A collection of ancient and modern historical texts.
Internet Classics Archive
MIT’s collection of ancient texts.
The Middle Eastern Media Research Institute
A collection of translated media from all over the Middle East.
New Advent
Writings of the Church Fathers, Thomas Aquinas’ Summa Theologica, as well as the entire Catholic Encyclopedia.
Online Library of Liberty
Digitized primary sources on economic freedom.
Perseus Project
Tufts University’s collection of ancient texts.
Project Gutenberg
A collection of digitized primary texts.
TCP - Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Wilson Center Digital Archive
Collection of international government documents.
World Digital Library
The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization’s collection of primary documents.

Reference Resources

Online Etymology Dictionary
Database of historical background on English words.
Turabian Manual of Style
How to provide footnotes and bibliographic citations for History and Political Science sources.

Vancat

Google Books

Life Magazine
Covering issues 1953-1972.
List of Digitized Magazines
List of all magazines digitized by Google Books - some will have incomplete coverage.

Thanks Dr. Walker!

Many thanks go to Dr. Kevin Walker for prompting the creation of this LibGuide and providing the structure, lists, and descriptions of sources found here. The LibGuide will continue to grow, but we owe him a great deal for helping us launch this research guide for our students!

Library Tools

Submit a Question
Call 714-966-6382
Stop by a Librarian's Office

Install LibKey Nomad!

Go to libkeynomad.com
Select your browser
Download and install
Select Vanguard University
Go! Check out Wikipedia, PubMed, Sage, and other websites and look for LibKey links.
Look for the "Access Options" button on the websites you visit.

History & Political Science: History